Magrit (Pb)

Author: Lee Battersby
Homepage_9781760650896

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $16.99(NZD)
  • : 9781760650896
  • : Walker Books Australia Pty, Limited
  • : Walker Books Australia
  • :
  • :
  • : January 2019
  • : ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
Barcode 9781760650896
9781760650896

Description

An award-winning, evocative book for younger readers by Lee Battersby and Amy Daoud.


Magrit lives in an abandoned cemetery. She is as forgotten as the tiny graveyard that surrounds her. One night a passing stork drops a strange bundle into the graveyard. Master Puppet, her friend and advisor, tells her it is an awful, ugly, terrible thing and that she should get rid of it. But Magrit has other ideas ...


This wonderfully strange yet poignant story of accepting the truth about oneself is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and David Almond.

Reviews

Battersby, a well-known sci-fi, fantasy and horror author, has not written explicitly for children in the past, but handles it with deftness and flair, breathing life into the characters and the clever, tangled story. Magrit is an accessible and engaging story for young readers aged nine and up, but also offers depth and opportunities for discussion for teen and adult readers. Books+Publishing